Milchtoast

Living, learning, eating in Switzerland and beyond

Milestones

4 Comments

Happy Canada Day to my fellow Canadians! Hope you’re enjoying the day from coast to coast!

Stelian and I realized that our 10 year anniversary falls around this time. This has caused me to reflect on the binary nature of our relationship: we met in ’01 and were married in ’10. Now, in 2011, we’ve been together for 10 and married for 01. Hmm…could Stelian being a computer scientist have anything to do with any of this?

Another landmark for today’s date is that it’s been exactly six months since we left Canada. To me, this is pretty unbelievable — one quarter of the planned two years gone already? I guess time flies when you’re having fun. But it does feel like quite a while since I’ve seen family, so I’m excited to be traveling to Canada and visiting next month.

If you’re looking for some entertaining diversion on this holiday Friday, I recently came across this list of the 20 most-watched TED talks. I’ve seen about a quarter of them and they’re all great — my personal favourite is Elizabeth Gilbert’s, since she speaks about nurturing creativity as a writer. But others, such as the mathemagic talk, are just pure entertainment.

Schönes Wochenende!

4 thoughts on “Milestones

  1. Wow congratulations on 10 years together, time sure does fly! You guys are an inspiration for bums like me :)

  2. Happy Canada Day to you too. And happy 10/01 anniversaries too. It is surprising that you have spent 1/4 of your time in Zurich already – I think it must be because you keep us up to date to regularly, as well as entertaining us :)

    We are looking forward to your visit too. Love you.

  3. Happy Canada Day, Kristen. One can only wonder what might happen on 01.11.11!

  4. Happy Canada Weekend Kristen! Congratulations on those binaries too!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.