Milchtoast

Chronicles of a writer abroad

I’m your classic chart-making, joghurt-eating nerd

1 Comment

The other day, I was reviewing some of my older blog entries, and reflecting on how much I’ve enjoyed keeping this log of my experiences during the past 3 months. I was also struck, at this moment, with an idea for a new page on the blog. Since a lot of what I blog about falls into the category of “things I miss from Canada” or “things I find new and enjoyable in Switzerland,” I thought that I should be keeping a list. Or perhaps a chart. I do love me a good chart. This one will enumerate, in one column, things that I love about Canada and am unlikely to find in Switzerland, and in another, things I love about Switzerland and am unlikely to find in Canada. The list items will link to the blog entries that I’ve written about the items; indeed, items will not be allowed to go on the list until I’ve blogged about them.

So look for this new page to go up within a few days. I should note that the intent of it will not be to have a competition between the two countries, or to declare one “better” down the road (this would be patently impossible), but instead just to celebrate the things that I love about the two countries where I’ve lived and not just visited. It will be (I hope) a useful index for myself and other people who are kind enough to read this blog, and a record of the little joys in life, at home and abroad (just don’t ask me which is which anymore!).

Today, I want to discuss something that will end up on the “Switzerland” side of the list: joghurt. Finally, a German word that we have no trouble pronouncing (although we spell it differently in Canada). The joghurt here is very good — not surprising given that the milk, cheese, and other dairy products in Switzerland are all delicious. But it’s not only the quality that makes Swiss yogurt so appealing: I am also genuinely impressed by the array of flavours on offer. Some of the joghurt flavours that I have spied in stores here include:

  • Banana
  • Blood orange
  • Raspberry peppermint
  • Lemon
  • Belle Helene (pear and chocolate)
  • Caramel
  • Maple syrup (!)
  • Plain chocolate
  • Chocolate coconut
  • Hazelnut

These are in addition to the flavours that I am used to seeing: strawberry, blueberry, raspberry, peach. I have not yet tried many of the above, but am eager to — never mind that a single-serve container of some of them packs as many calories as your standard chocolate bar. My favourite so far, which also has reasonably good nutrition info, is rhubarb-vanilla. I don’t have much to say about it, except that it is genius. I love the tangyness of rhubarb when it is paired with something sweet, like vanilla joghurt. I don’t know why this hasn’t caught on in Canada (and if it does exist there, someone please enlighten me!).

I’m just about to call it a night — tomorrow is a big day involving German conversation class and an exploding snowman! I hope that all of you had (and in many cases, are still having) a very pleasant weekend.

One thought on “I’m your classic chart-making, joghurt-eating nerd

  1. I love the idea of pear and chocolate joghurt. As I’m on a diet perhaps it’s a good thing there is none accessible to me right now!! I can’t wait to hear more on the subject of the exploding snowman…

Leave a Reply

