Milchtoast

Chronicles of a writer abroad

Heading to Amsterdam

5 Comments

The time has come! We fly to Amsterdam tomorrow afternoon. We’ll be running our respective races on Sunday morning/afternoon (Stelian’s 8k has the very civilized starting time of 10am, while I have to wait for 1:30 to begin the half marathon).

I have to admit that I’m feeling a bit of dread when I think of the distance I’m going to cover, and the time that I hope to do it in. Somehow, despite the hundreds of kilometers that have gone into my training this season, my legs never got to a point where they were feeling strong and dependable. But a lot can happen with good weather, which is forecasted, as well as a good course and the excitement of a race. Runners finish both the 8km and the half marathon by entering the Olympic Stadium, so I know that whatever happens, it’s going to be fun to finish in front of a cheering stadium crowd and pretend that I’m some kind of real athlete. 🙂

Another thing I can be sure of is that there’ll be good music playing in my ears as I move towards the finish line. Here’s a peek at my race playlist:

It’s got a little bit of everything…some of these songs I genuinely, really like (the last one, 40 Day Dream, is one of my favourites) and others I find are good to run to, even if I can’t stand them at other times.

I’ll be back with an update sometime after our return from the city of canals, tall skinny houses, bikes, and uh…other stuff, on Monday.

Happy weekend, everyone!

5 thoughts on “Heading to Amsterdam

  1. I hope your flight and pre-race preparations all go smoothly in Amsterdam and that both of you ‘enjoy’ the whole race experience, especially when you are finished. Talk to you when you return!

  2. “…pretend that I’m some kind of real athlete…”

    Oh, I don’t think there’s any doubt of that.

    Have a blast!

  3. Good luck to both of you on your races! The half marathon course looks beautiful–pretty flat, and you get to run past the Rijksmuseum:)

  4. hi Kristen, thanks for posting, as always.
    I consider you a “real athlete”, for sure! I hope you have a good race tomorrow, and lots of fun in Amsterdam. It sounds as though you will have a wonderful course to run! lots to distract you!
    Congratulations on all your training for this event.

  5. Well, I guess I’m a bit late with my congratulations but I hope everything went well with both of you! What a neat city to run in with so many lovely old buildings to see and to be able to enjoy once you have finished the race. Enjoy! Enjoy! and we will look forward to your update when you get home.
    xoxo Nana and Boppy too.

Leave a Reply

