Milchtoast

Chronicles of a writer abroad

Some thoughts on writing workshops

7 Comments

Our awesome Craft of Fiction group at the Paris Writers Workshop (Photo via CoreyMP)

I don’t often post about writing-related things in this space, mostly because I’m aware that my readers are, for the most part, not writers. But when a new friend that I met at the Paris Writers Workshop offered me a chance to spout my opinions about workshops on her blog, which is dedicated to writing, I jumped at it. If you happen to be interested in the topic, head on over to my post on Corey’s blog. And if you are a writer, you might want to stay tuned to the site — it’s full of interesting and thought-provoking content.

7 thoughts on “Some thoughts on writing workshops

  1. Great post on Corey’s blog! (And what does the underwear comment from the workshop mean anyway?) I would love to see more posts from you about writing, workshops, the life of a writer etc. Experiencing the world from someone else’s perspective is one of the joys of reading blogs, and of reading in general.

  2. I really liked your explanation of the value of times together and time apart, as well as the importance of a moderator at workshops. Now we can understand when you “disappear” for a time, making us wait for the next installment of your blog. Thanks for the insights into the life of a writer.
    Question: after your work has been critiqued and you have edited it, is there another opportunity to present the same piece for further comment?

    • Thank you! And with respect to the question, yes, you could always take the same piece to another workshop at a later date…in fact, this is what a lot of people who are working on novels do, so I’ve gotten to see the way people’s manuscripts evolve through successive workshops, which is very interesting.

  3. Thanks for sharing your thoughts, Kristen. I can especially identify with your last paragraph on writing AFTER a workshop. Finding yourself alone once again with your writing can be one of the most challenging parts, yet when you really dig into what you’ve learned.

    • Yes, it is challenging. I often find that I get a kind of workshop-hangover, where for a period of time afterwards I feel paralyzed about my piece (especially if I’ve gotten conflicting feedback, so that certain people liked things that other people didn’t). But in the end, I feel I’ve come out of each workshop a better writer.

  4. I’m glad that you can present your piece the second time if you choose to do so. As far as criticism and paralysis which you refer to in your reply to Joy, I suppose you must decide if the “dislike” comment is valid from your point of view. That might help the paralysis. 🙂

Leave a Reply

