Milchtoast

Chronicles of a writer abroad

Under pressure

10 Comments

The other night I had a dream in which the sun went out — inexplicably, in the middle of the morning, it became dark as night again. My first thought about this, in the dream, was “This’ll make for a great blog post!”

You see, the widening chasm between posts weighs on me in both my conscious and unconscious hours. And I am not someone who performs well under pressure. I am, instead, someone who chokes under pressure. You know that moment when you’re playing Tetris and the pieces are coming too fast and you can’t find appropriate spaces for them, so you just give up and let them pile up in crazy fashion? That’s a pretty good analogy for the way I live my life at times. I am also physically crippled by pressure — many times it has caused me, as it did a few days ago, to wake up with a neck so stiff I can barely move my head.

Life is unusually hectic for us at the moment because we’ve decided to move apartments within the city this month. Like many things in Switzerland, the moving process is fussy and stressful…to the point that you begin to wonder whether it’s worth the trouble. But we’re hoping it is. And I think I’ll feel much more willing to blog about it once it’s all over.

I hope, dear readers, that you’re all settling nicely into your fall routines. We’re certainly looking forward to things being a little more settled chez nous.

A view of our soon-to-be-old apartment

10 thoughts on “Under pressure

  1. I can relate on this one… Pressure is both a stimulant and a source of physical pain for me. I’m constantly trying to find the balance between too much and too little pressure.

    I haven’t posted anything for more than 3 weeks now. While it also weighs on my conscience, I’m sure none of my reader has really noticed it- everyone is busy with their own blogs and lives…

    Anyway, nice writing. I’m trying to finish a post by the end of the week myself 🙂

    • Thanks Cécile. I think you’re right — we are probably more conscious of the gaps than our readers are. You’re also right that pressure is a stimulant as well as a stressor. But I only need a very tiny bit of it to get stimulated 🙂 Looking forward to hearing about your adventures in Canada!

  2. Which neighbourhood are you moving to? Can’t wait to see pictures of your new place (when you’re all unpacked and settled in).

  3. Good luck with the move. Hope it isn’t too much work.

  4. Tell you what: promise yourself a lovely holiday once the terrible deed is done:).

  5. Keeping you, Stelian and the pets in mind as you move your household. Too bad Peter and Patrick aren’t there to help, they got us moved to Orangeville so efficiently. Hoping some friends can lend you a hand and lighten the load.

    • Not to worry, we’re using professionals. There isn’t much other option in a building without an elevator. But our new building does have one, happily. Thanks for the good wishes.

Leave a Reply

